Call for Nominations: ISA RCSL Podgòrecki Prize 2017

Call for Nominations: ISA RCSL Podgòrecki Prize 2017


The Podgòrecki Prize

The ISA Research Committee on the Sociology of Law established the Podgòrecki Prize in 2004, to honour the memory of Adam Podgòrecki, the founding father of RCSL and a leading figure within the international sociological community.

A jury of RCSL, chosen by the RCSL President, awards the prize annually for outstanding achievements in socio-legal research, in alternate years for either distinguished and outstanding lifetime achievements, or outstanding scholarship of a socio-legal researcher at an earlier stage of his or her career.

The prize for lifetime achievements will be awarded as an honorary prize, symbolised by a commemorative certificate, to honour outstanding and exemplary colleagues who have produced guiding and inspiring work. The prize for emerging socio-legal scholars will be a commemorative certificate and a money prize, to honour and encourage colleagues that have yet to leave a mark on the international level of production of socio-legal research but who have published one or more significant works within no later than 10 year of his or her doctorate.

General information about the prize and the Podgòrecki Prize rules can be found at:


Call for 2017 nominations

The ISA RCSL Jury Committee for the Podgòrecki Prize calls for nominations for the Senior Prize, which will be awarded in 2017 to a socio-legal scholar for their outstanding lifetime contribution to socio-legal scholarship and research. Previous winners of this prize have been: 2015: André-Jean Arnaud (France), 2013: Volkmar Gessner (Germany) and Terence Halliday (USA), 2011: David Nelken (Italy), 2009: Boaventura de Sousa Santos (Portugal), 2007: Richard Abel (USA) and Vincenzo Ferrari (Italy), 2005: Erhard Blankenburg (The Netherlands). The 2017 Committee notes that all the previous winners of this award have been men. Although our decision will be based strictly on the merits of the candidates, and the case presented in nominating them, we would particularly welcome the opportunity to consider nominations on behalf of some of the outstanding women scholars in our field.

Nominations require the support of at least two members of the RCSL, and should include the candidate’s CV and a brief letter of support from each nominator. It is desirable, but not essential, that nominees are members of RCSL. Previous nominees may be re-nominated in this 2017 round, with updated letters and CVs. The Jury does not have access to previous correspondence or reviews.

Publications can be in any language. For works in languages other than those familiar to the Prize Committee, the nominations should give some indication of the value of the work and provide selected translations. To consider works in less well-known languages, the Jury Committee can co-opt and consult other RCSL members.

Nominations should be sent to the Chair of the jury, Prof. Terence Halliday ( to be received by midnight GMT on15 December 2016. The prize will be awarded at the International Law and Society meeting, June 20-23, 2017, jointly sponsored by the Law and Society Association and the Research Committee on the Sociology of Law, in partnership with the Socio-Legal Studies Association, the Japanese Association of the Sociology of Law, and the Canadian Law and Society Association.

The 2017 Prize Jury is composed of Prof. Terence Halliday (US), Prof. Jose Ramon Bengoetxea (Spain), and Prof.  Malgorzata Fuszara  (Poland).


%d bloggers liken dit: